Inchcock flicks through the Nottingham Post Newspaper… To Cheer himself up perhaps?

04

On my way into town this morning, Sister Jane rang me and told me there was an article in the Nottingham Post about my GP surgery. So I thought I’d P1070179get one as I arrived in town, and have a flick through it like.

The seventies return with violence from football fans?

Disappointing news. And the paper had gotten a bit soggy in the persistent rain we were having this morning. Huh!

P1070178Next page was no less depressing mind.

“Man, 21, Stabbed in his car outside off-licence” was the headline.

More violence occurring in Nottingham yet again seems like every day now.

I hadn’t cheered myself up yet.

P1070180Then “Carer used pensioner’s card to withdraw cash”!

30-year-old Carer woman robs  Clifton 84-year-old lady of £2,200.

Joan Lynch, the victim, was an Alzheimer sufferer and was hounded to get the pin number by her Carer. She has since passed away.

P1070182

A bus station bombs hoax threat.

65-year-old Widower David Dean suffers burglar breaking into his home and taking amongst other things, his recently departed wife’s wedding ring.

This quick flick through the newspaper is getting me down just a bit now.

P1070183Next up: “2,600 properties hit by a power cut.”

This affected properties in seven postcode areas.

On e poor chap had been working on his laptop for over four hours, and the black-out cost him everything he had been working on. Poor man!

P1070184A serial burglar got in through a window that had been left open.

He blamed his own drug use as the cause of this burglary, and the previous 38 he had been prosecuted for. His counsel pleaded for leniency now he was on a methadone drug reduction plan.

They didn’t mention how long he got.

P1070185

Now it got interesting on the Comments Page. M Dybala sent a letter in about Nottingham Pavement Cyclists.

As you might know, a subject close to me heart.

I just had to send them an email in support of the letter.

And I did. Whether it will get printed I don’t know of course, but here it is:

I would like to support M Dybala’s comments in yesterday’s Nottingham Post about the Pavement Cyclists so rampant in Nottingham.

I wrote to the Police about the problem and got an email back from a PCO. He explained that if the roads are busy they can understand these antisocial cyclists using the pavement. If the roads are not busy, he assured me they will pull up the offenders and have a word.

I have since photographed many of these offenders, one or two with a police car or person nearby, who did nothing of course.

The problem is, they do not appreciate the difficulties this causes to the elderly, infirm, deaf and visually impaired pedestrians (I, unfortunately, qualify for all these descriptions) when they fly past and on more than one occasion I have been ‘caught’ by them. This causes bruising due to my being on Warfarin. They regularly weave at speed through and around people, and I have to admit to being a little nervous when in town particularly.

I think this should be looked into and the problems appreciated more.

Thank You.

I added a few photographicalisation of them that I’d took.

P1070186

It seems the surgery has been awarded an Outstanding rating in Care Quality!

My Doctor, Lona Vindla, is wearing a turquoise jumper, and on her left as you look at the photo, is another one I love to bits, the nurse who looks after my Warfarin blood tests and they are both lovely with it.

Now this did cheer me up!

Leave a Reply